New York Giants are Super Bowl XLVI Champions in 2012

New England Patriots vs The New York Giants, Super Bowl 46, Indianapolis, IN on Sunday February 5, 2012. 

This years Super Bowl was won by the NY Giants 21 – 17 over the Patriots on what will be remembered as the game that Ahmad Bradshaw was left alone to score by the Patriots, stalled at the goal line, but eventually scored anyway after thinking, wow that seemed too easy.  The big play that stands out in my mind was the long 38 yard sideline pass to Mario Manningham from Ely Manning, this play may have been the play of the year in the NFL.  The final Hail Mary pass by Tom Brady that was knocked down in the end zone is also an important play.

The game started out a little crazy with the Giants forcing Tom Brady into an “Intentional Grounding” Penalty while in the end zone in the first quarter, Giants 2 – 0.  At Halftime the Patriots were leading 10 – 9 after a score by Danny Woodhead with only 8 seconds left on the clock, this was a big momentum booster for the Pat’s.  In the third quarter, the Patriots scored again with a 12 yard TD pass to TE  Aaron Hernandez which made the score 17 – 9.    Two Giants field goals in the 3rd Quarter cut the margin to the Patriots  17 – Giants 15.  Then, with an amazing come from behind victory the Giants scored the final points with just 57 seconds on the clock to win the 2012 Super Bowl 46 in Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts.

The question is who can win Super Bowl 47 XLVII in the Mercedez-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, LA?   Will your favorite NFL team peak at the right time and get into the Big Game?

Road to Super Bowl 55: Offseason Storylines (March 9)

With the road to Super Bowl 55 in 2021 in Tampa, Florida officially underway, we're taking a look at some Read more

Road to 2021 Super Bowl: 2020 Combine Lookahead

Just weeks after the exciting conclusion to the 2019-20 season with Super Bowl 54, the new league year is set Read more

Road to the 2021 Super Bowl: Free Agency Preview

With the 2019-20 NFL season officially behind us, the next step on the Road to Super Bowl 55 in Tampa Read more

Super Bowl 55 | Looking Ahead to Tampa in 2021

The 2019 NFL season is officially complete, and the Super Bowl champions are none other than the Patrick Mahomes-led Kansas Read more

Leave a Comment